The Connecticut minimum wage rate automatically increases to 0.5 percent above the rate set in the Fair Labor Standards Act if the federal minimum wage rate equals or becomes higher than the State minimum.
The 7th day overtime law, which is separate from the minimum wage law, requires employers who permit covered employees to work seven days in any one workweek to pay the employee at a rate of time and one-half for hours worked on the seventh day when employees work all seven days of the workweek. The 7th day overtime law does not apply when the employee is not permitted to work over 40 hours total in the workweek.
If the highest federal minimum wage is increased in excess of the State minimum wage in effect, then the State minimum wage will increase to the same amount, effective on the same date as the increase in the federal minimum wage.
A business not covered by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act whose gross annual sales are $110,000 or less may pay $4.00 per hour. However, if an individual employee is producing or moving goods between states or otherwise covered by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act, that employee must be paid the greater of either the federal minimum wage or Montana's minimum wage.
The Nevada minimum wage is adjusted annually based on a set formula. On July 1, 2023, the minimum wage will increase to $11.25 for employees not offered qualifying health insurance and to $10.25 per hour for employees offered qualifying health insurance. Effective July 1, 2024, there will be a uniform minimum wage of $12.00 per hour for all employees.
The Oregon minimum wage is adjusted annually on July 1 based on a set formula. There is a higher minimum wage in the Portland metro area and a lower minimum wage in Nonurban counties. See Minimum wage increase schedule.
Required minimum distributions (RMDs) are the minimum amounts you must withdraw from your retirement accounts each year. You generally must start taking withdrawals from your traditional IRA, SEP IRA, SIMPLE IRA, and retirement plan accounts when you reach age 72 (73 if you reach age 72 after Dec. 31, 2022).
Required Minimum Distributions (RMDs) are minimum amounts that IRA and retirement plan account owners generally must withdraw annually starting with the year they reach age 72 (73 if you reach age 72 after Dec. 31, 2022). Retirement plan account owners can delay taking their RMDs until the year in which they retire, unless they're a 5% owner of the business sponsoring the plan. Owners of traditional IRA, and SEP and SIMPLE IRA accounts must begin taking RMDs once the account holder is age 72 (73 if you reach age 72 after Dec. 31, 2022), even if they're retired.
You must take your first required minimum distribution for the year in which you reach age 72 (73 if you reach age 72 after Dec. 31, 2022). However, you can delay taking the first RMD until April 1 of the following year. If you reach age 72 in 2022, you must take your first RMD by April 1, 2023, and the second RMD by Dec. 31, 2023.
Example: John reached age 72 on August 20, 2022. He must receive his 2022 required minimum distribution by April 1, 2023, based on his 2021 year-end balance. John must also receive his 2023 required minimum distribution by December 31, 2023, based on his 2022 year-end balance.
If John receives his initial required minimum distribution for 2022 by December 31, 2022, then his first RMD is included on his 2022 income tax return and the second on his 2023 return. However, if John waits to take his first RMD until April 1, 2023, then both his 2022 and 2023 distributions are included in income on his 2023 income tax return.
The minimum wage rates applicable in recent years can be found in the IWC wage orders. Effective January 1, 2023, the minimum monthly salary for sheepherders and goat herders increases to $2,755.48 per month for all employers. The minimum monthly salary for sheepherders and goat herders is specially set under IWC Wage Order 14-2001. Wages paid to sheepherders and goat herders may not be offset by meals or lodging provided by the employer. Instead, there are provisions in IWC Order 14-2007, Sections 10(F), (G) and (H)) that apply to sheepherders and goat herders with respect to monthly meal and lodging benefits required to be provided by the employer.
Most employers in California are subject to both the federal and state minimum wage laws. Also, local entities (cities and counties) are allowed to enact minimum wage rates and several cities have recently adopted ordinances which establish a higher minimum wage rate for employees working within their local jurisdiction. See the list of City and County minimum wages in California maintained by UC Berkely.
The effect of this multiple coverage by different government sources is that when there are conflicting requirements in the laws, the employer must follow the stricter standard; that is, the one that is the most beneficial to the employee. Thus, since California's current law requires a higher minimum wage rate than does the federal law, all employers in California who are subject to both laws must pay the state minimum wage rate unless their employees are exempt under California law. Similarly, if a local entity (city or county) has adopted a higher minimum wage, employees must be paid the local wage where it is higher than the state or federal minimum wage rates.
There are some employees who are exempt from the minimum wage law, such as outside salespersons, individuals who are the parent, spouse, or child of the employer, and apprentices regularly indentured under the State Division of Apprenticeship Standards.
Minimum Wage Order (MW-2023) There is an exception for learners, regardless of age, who may be paid not less than 85 percent of the minimum wage rounded to the nearest nickel during their first 160 hours of employment in occupations in which they have no previous similar or related experience.
There are also exceptions for employees who are mentally or physically disabled, or both, and for nonprofit organizations such as sheltered workshops or rehabilitation facilities that employ disabled workers. Such individuals with licenses may have their licenses renewed and organizations may be issued a special license by the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement authorizing employment at a wage less than the legal minimum wage but only until January 1, 2025. Labor Code Sections 1191 and 1191.5
No. The minimum wage is an obligation of the employer and cannot be waived by any agreement, including collective bargaining agreements. Any remedial legislation written for the protection of employees may not be violated by agreement between the employer and employee. Civil Code Sections 1668 and 3513
If an employer discriminates or retaliates against a worker in any manner whatsoever, for example, fires the worker because they asked why they were not being paid the minimum wage, or because they filed a claim or threaten to file a claim with the Labor Commissioner, the worker may have rights to protection from retaliation. Learn about filing a discrimination/retaliation complaint with the Labor Commissioner's Office. Alternatively, workers can file a lawsuit in court against their employer.
* The UC Berkeley Labor Center keeps a detailed national list of local minimum wage ordinances. The Department of Industrial Relations does not monitor or verify this list but includes it here as a reference for the public: UC Berkeley Labor Center Inventory of US City and County Minimum Wage Ordinances
Scientists study each unique water system, assess the water resource values associated with the system (such as kayaking, fishing or manatee passage), and identify the minimum flow or level that must be maintained to protect those resource values.
For water bodies that are below their minimum flow or level, or are projected to fall below it within 20 years, the districts are required to implement a recovery or prevention strategy to ensure the MFL is maintained over the long-term.
Minimum can be a noun or an adjective and it has several more specific meanings, all of which are related in some way to its primary meaning. When minimum is used as a noun, its plural can be minimums or, less commonly, minima.
In general, minimum often refers to the smallest possible amount of something that can satisfy a requirement, as in You need a minimum of 10 years of experience to apply for this position. It can also refer to the lowest amount that has been observed, and it is used in related ways in mathematics.
The federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour for most workers. In this report, CBO examines how increasing the federal minimum wage to $10, $12, or $15 per hour by 2025 would affect employment and family income.
The first option would raise the federal minimum wage to $15 per hour as of January 1, 2025. That increase would be implemented in six annual increments starting on January 1, 2020. After reaching $15 in 2025, the minimum wage would be indexed, or tied, to median hourly wages. The $15 option would also gradually eliminate exceptions to the minimum wage for tipped workers, teenage workers, and disabled workers.
The second option would raise the federal minimum wage to $12 per hour as of January 1, 2025. The $12 option would be implemented on the same timeline as the $15 option but would not index the minimum wage to wage growth after 2025. It would leave in place current exceptions.
The third option would raise the federal minimum wage to $10 per hour as of January 1, 2025. The $10 option would be implemented on the same timeline as the $15 and $12 options. Like the $12 option, it would not index the minimum wage to wage growth and would leave in place current exceptions.
In addition, in an average week in 2025, the $15 option would increase the wages of 17 million workers whose wages would otherwise be below $15 per hour, CBO estimates. The wages of many of the 10 million workers whose wages would be slightly above the new federal minimum would also increase. 041b061a72